# LANARK COUNTY DETACHMENT BOARD INAUGURAL MEETING MINUTES

# Wednesday, April 23, 2025 8:30 a.m. Carleton Place Fire Hall Meeting Room

# PRESENT:

Dena Comley, Council Representative, Town of Carleton Place
Steve Fournier, Council Representative, Township of Drummond/North Elmsley
Denzil Ferguson, Council Representative, Municipality of Mississippi Mills
Ed McPherson, Council Representative, Town of Perth
Greg Hallam, Council Representative, Tay Valley Township
Ron Closs, Council Representative, Township of Lanark Highlands
Karen Jennings, Council Representative, Township of Montague
Rodney Black, Community Representative
Michel Vermette, Community Representative

#### **OTHERS:**

Inspector Kerlous Tawdrous, Lanark County OPP Diane Smithson, Acting Secretary-Treasurer

#### ABSENT:

Richard Kidd, Council Representative Beckwith Township

## A. MEETING CALL TO ORDER

Diane Smithson, Acting Secretary-Treasurer called the meeting to order at 8:32 a.m.

# **B. ROLL CALL**

All members were in attendance with the exception of Richard Kidd, Beckwith

#### C. DECLARATION OF OFFICE FOR ALL MEMBERS OF THE BOARD

Each Board member in attendance swore or affirmed their Oath of Office.

## D. APPOINTMENT OF A CHAIRPERSON

Moved by Dena Comley Seconded by Steve Fournier

THAT Ed McPherson be nominated Chairperson for the Lanark County OPP Detachment Board.

**CARRIED** 

As no further nominations for the position of Chairperson were received after the Acting Secretary-Treasurer inquired three times, Ed McPherson accepted the nomination and was approved by motion of the Board.

#### E. APPOINTMENT OF A VICE-CHAIRPERSON

# Moved by Ron Closs Seconded by Steve Fournier

THAT Michel Vermette be nominated Vice-Chairperson for the Lanark County OPP Detachment Board.

**CARRIED** 

As no further nominations for the position of Vice-Chairperson were received after the Secretary-Treasurer inquired three times, Michel Vermette accepted the nomination and was approved by motion of the Board.

#### F. VICE-CHAIRPERSON'S INAUGURAL REMARKS

Michel Vermette opted not to make any inaugural remarks.

## G. CHAIRPERSON'S INAURGURAL REMARKS

Chair McPherson thanked the members for the nomination and noted the work that had taken place to date to enable the Inaugural Meeting of the Board to occur today.

#### H. ADJOURNMENT

Moved by Karen Jennings Seconded by Denzil Ferguson

That the meeting be adjourned at 8:41 a.m.

$\sim \lambda$	О	RI		п
UА	К	м	ᇉ	u

Ed McPherson,	 Diane Smithson,
Chairperson	Acting Secretary-Treasurer